Columbus Lions

Columbus Lions

Current season

Established 2006
Play in Columbus Civic Center
in Columbus, Georgia


League/conference affiliations

World Indoor Football League (2007)
American Indoor Football Association (2008–2009)

Western Conference (2008)

South Division (2008)

South Division (2009)

Southern Indoor Football League (2010–2011)

Eastern Conference (2011)

South Division (2011)

Professional Indoor Football League (2012–2015)

American Conference (2014)

American Indoor Football (2016)

Southern Division (2016)

National Arena League (2017–present)

Team colors
Blue, Black, Silver, White

Leo the Lion


Rick Jacobson
Skip Seda
Duke Liberatore
Jan McBarron
Keith Norred
John Hargrove
Kike Seda

Head coach
Jason Gibson

Team history

Columbus Lions (2007–present)


League championships (3)
SIFL: 2010
PIFL: 2015
AIF: 2016
NAL: 0

Conference championships (0)

Division championships (3)
AIFA: 2009
SIFL: 2011
AIFA: 2016
NAL: 0

Playoff appearances (9)

WIFL: 2007
AIFA: 2008, 2009
SIFL: 2010, 2011
PIFL: 2012, 2014, 2015
AIFA: 2016
NAL: 0

Home arena(s)

Columbus Civic Center (2007–present)

The Columbus Lions are a professional indoor football team based in Columbus, Georgia and a founding member of the National Arena League (NAL) for the 2017 season. The Lions were founded in 2006 as an expansion team of the World Indoor Football League (WIFL). After the WIFL went under in 2007, the Lions joined the American Indoor Football Association (AIFA) where they played for two seasons. When the AIFA broke apart, the Lions joined the Southern Indoor Football League (SIFL). The Lions joined the Professional Indoor Football League (PIFL) in 2012 when the Southern Indoor Football League (SIFL) teams split up into two new leagues. After the 2015 season, the PIFL broke apart, and the Lions joined American Indoor Football for 2016.
In their ten years of existence, the Lions have compiled a record of 83-37 with division championships in 2009, 2011 and 2016. They have made three championship appearance during the 2010 season where they defeated the Louisiana Swashbucklers in President’s Cup II,[1] in 2015 when they defeated the Richmond Raiders in PIFL Cup IV and in 2016 where they defeated the West Michigan Ironmen in the AIF Cham